Jump to navigation Jump to content

Hill of Tarvit Mansion & Garden

Downton Abbey fans need look no further than Fife to find this wonderful example of Edwardian stately living. Hill of Tarvit was originally known as Wemyss Hall. In 1904, the new owner, Frederick Sharp, commissioned architect Robert Lorimer to transform the 17th-century house into a modern 20th-century mansion to display his amazing collection of fine art, porcelain and many other items. When the Sharp family moved into Hill of Tarvit, they had electricity, telephones connecting each room and central heating. Lorimer also designed the landscaped gardens, with formal lawns, yew hedging, flowering borders and a sunken rose garden. The Sharps then built a 9 hole golf course to fulfill their passion for golf.

Today, Hill of Tarvit is fascinating for the record it preserves of Edwardian life both upstairs and downstairs. It also has the only exclusively hickory golf course in the UK. Tee times are available to book from March to October.

View Property

Sign up to receive occasional updates from The National Trust for Scotland Foundation USA